

Dr. Jason S. Wood, President

2017-18 Plan of Representation



North (60,583)
South (65,266)
School District Lines
----- County Lines
125,849* District Population

*Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Fact Finder, GCT-PL1, State- School District, 2010 Census Redistricting Data Summary File

SOUTHWEST WISCONSIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE PLAN OF REPRESENTATION

BACKGROUND OF DISTRICT

On July 31, 1965, the Wisconsin State Legislature passed Bill 501A which is now Chapter 292, Laws of 2965. This law provided that all areas of the State of Wisconsin would be in vocational, technical and adult education districts by July 1, 1970. In accordance with the legislation, the Wisconsin Board of Vocational, Technical and Adult Education and the Coordinating Council for Higher Education designated the establishment of sixteen comprehensive VTAE districts to encompass the total geographical area of the State of Wisconsin.

The Southwest Wisconsin Vocational, Technical and Adult Education District was created on July 1, 1967. It is composed of 30 school districts operating public schools located primarily in the following five counties in Southwest Wisconsin: Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Lafayette, and Richland. Portions of Dane, Green, Sauk, and Vernon counties are also included in the District. The District encompasses approximately 3,800 square miles. The District Office is located in Fennimore, Wisconsin.

On April 21, 1994, Governor Thompson signed a bill to change the name of the system to the Wisconsin Technical College System and each of the sixteen districts is now known as a Technical College District. As a result of this bill, the official title of this district is now the Southwest Wisconsin Technical College District.

BOARD COMPOSITION

In accordance with Wisconsin Statutes, a Technical College District Board shall be composed of nine members who are residents of the district, including two employers, two employees, three additional members, a school district administrator as defined in s.115.001(8), Stats., and one elected official who holds a state or local office as defined in s5.02, except for the office of party committeeman or party committeewoman. The SWTC District currently has a north/south plan of representation specifying one Employer Member, one Employee Member, and One Additional Member from both the north and south areas; and three floating positions – School District Administrator, Elected Official, and one Additional Member, with a minimum of four members representing each area each year. The appointment of Technical College District Board members shall be made by an appointing authority consistent with Statute 38.10. The appointing authority for the Southwest Wisconsin Technical College District is the school board presidents of the 30 school districts operating public schools within the technical college district. In the appointment process, equal consideration is given to the general population distribution within the district, as well as to the distribution of women and minorities.

APPORTIONMENT NORTH/SOUTH PLAN

North: Barneveld, Boscobel, Dodgeville, Highland, Iowa-Grant, Ithaca, Kickapoo, North Crawford, Prairie du Chien, Richland, Riverdale, Seneca, Wauzeka-Steuben, and Weston

South: Argyle, Belmont, Benton, Blackhawk, Cassville, Cuba City, Darlington, Fennimore, Lancaster, Mineral Point, Pecatonica, Platteville, Potosi, River Ridge, Shullsburg, and Southwestern

The Plan of Representation and the Apportionment Plan in effect for 2017-18 were approved at a meeting on March 30, 2017.