Southwest Wisconsin Technical College was founded on July 1, 1967, pursuant to Chapter 292, Laws of Wisconsin of 1965. The startup began immediately with the selection of initial programs, creation of advisory committees, and recruitment of staff members. Farm Training was the first college program and began instruction in Fall 1967. In 1968-69, the College initiated a comprehensive building program in Fennimore, Wisconsin, near the geographical center of the Southwest Tech District. This program resulted in the development of the campus's first buildings.

On April 1, 2008, the voters of the Southwest Tech District approved a capital projects referendum totaling $31.9 million for campus expansion and renewal. Expansion added a Health/Science Center, Ag/Auto Building, Child Care Center, and Public Safety Complex. Renewal included renovating and repurposing existing buildings. The result is that our entire campus has been updated.

Southwest Tech is integral to a balanced local economy and a fine example of how technical education can thrive in a rural environment. It offers occupational curricula leading to a two-year associate degree or a one- or two-year technical diploma.

The Southwest Tech District encompasses a geographical region of 3,800 square miles (80 miles east to west and 100 miles north to south) that includes most of Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Lafayette, and Richland counties and part of Dane, Green, Sauk, and Vernon counties. Thirty public K-12 school districts comprise the Southwest Tech district.

The following map shows the location of each of the 16 Wisconsin technical college districts, with the Southwest Tech District highlighted in yellow.

Southwest Tech District Map
If you are unable to access documents here, please contact the President's Office (, 608.822.2300)